Cardmaking · Stamping · Uncategorized

Making cards in March

It has been a busy month for cardmaking so far – not only have I been making cards to give myself, but I’ve also been making them for family members to give to other people. I’ve had to make a special schedule in my Dokibook and Filofax to keep track of them all!

The first was for my Nana, whose birthday is today. I used the Summer Blooms stamp set from WPlus9, which I absolutely love because it’s so versatile and always produces really great cards. I stamped the images on white card, then inked around the edges with Distress Ink in Spiced Marmalade. I then rubbed on some Distress Stickles in Wild Honey for extra definition around the picture. Finally, I mounted the whole thing onto a yellow card blank and added some white Liquid Pearls at random to finish.

Summer Blooms card

The second card was for me to give to my cousin Nicola, whose birthday was also today! I stamped out the letters using an Artemio alphabet set in yellow dye ink from My Favorite Things, then cut them out and mounted the white rectangle onto yellow card. I then stamped the Penny Black Duckling in black Memento and coloured it in with alcohol markers before fussy cutting around the edges. Next, I cut a panel of green patterned paper from an old K&Co stack and stuck it down the left-hand edge of a scalloped-edged card blank. I stamped the Happy Birthday sentiment in the right-hand corner, adhered the ‘cousin’ panel centrally and stuck the duck on using foam pads. Finally, I added accents using Liquid Pearls.

IMAG0100

The next card was for my mum to give to my Nana and used the lovely Altenew Vintage Roses stamp set. I stamped six roses in varying shades of red and pink, followed by some leaves in green, then cut them all out. I created an embossed panel in white pearlescent card using a Cuttlebug Divine Swirls folder and adhered it to the front of the card, then arranged the roses and leaves over the top. I added a die-cut sentiment slightly to the right and stamped ‘mum’ underneath using Altenew’s Calligraphy Alpha set. Finally, I inked around the edges of the card in pink for definition and added rows of Liquid Pearls (can you tell I’m obsessed with those at the moment?!) as accents.

Vintage Roses card

Finally, I made a card for my mum to give to my cousin, going for a simple yet blingy design. I cut out a panel of pink pearlescent card and adhered it to the bottom of a scalloped-edged card blank, then adhered a piece of Die Cuts with a View black and white patterned paper over the top so just the edges showed. I then stuck a strip of fuchsia washi tape across the middle and put a die-cut sentiment over the top. Next, I stamped the cat, which is an old Papermania image, and coloured it using grey Promarkers, I adhered it to the card using foam pads for dimension. Finally, I stamped ‘niece’ in pink using Altenew’s Calligraphy Alpha set and added a row of yet more Liquid Pearls to finish.

imag0090.jpg

Phew, that’s all for now! However, I do have quite a few more to make for the month, so I will very likely be back with more pictures soon.

4 thoughts on “Making cards in March

    1. Thank you for your comment and your kind words! It is tricky to do different designs sometimes, I find they can often end up being varying degrees of the same basic layout. The range of different stamps helped though, I think – lots of potential!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

